If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (828) 268-2236

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

The Three Types of Contaminated Water

11/29/2016 (Permalink)

There are three types of contaminated water that can be present after a water loss.

Category 1 "Clear Water"

A category 1 loss is considered "clear water." This type of loss normally occurs due to a pipe bursting or a hose coming loose on an appliance. This is normally the easiest type of water loss to clean up because there are fewer health hazards than other categories.

Category 2 "Grey Water"

A category 2 loss is considered "Grey Water." This is water that is slightly contaminated due to either the source of the water or neglect of a water loss in a home. For example a water loss that started as a category 1 but was left for a long period time becomes a category 2 due to contamination. Sources that can cause category 2 losses include toilet or washing machine overflows.

Category 3 "Black Water"

A category 3 loss is considered "Black Water." This is the most hazardous of the three types of water losses. Category 3 losses normally occur due to natural disasters or sewage damage. This water contains toxic materials and pathogens that are harmful to your health.

No matter what category the loss is, it's best to let a qualified professional make sure that it is cleaned and dried properly so that mold does not form. If your home suffers a water loss be sure to give SERVPRO of Avery and Watauga Counties a call to ensure that it's like "it never even happened."

Other News

View Recent Posts